Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print

Just Married: Kyle and Bryce Hollinger

Thomas Beaman Photography, Camp Hill

Oct. 6, 2012

THE THEME:

Dark elegance: black and white with “a polished-up 'Addams Family' ” look. From the glistening hors d’oeuvres tent, to the 15-piece orchestra stage, to butlered late-night snacks, this extravagant fête was a mash-up of cosmopolitan New York City and Pennsylvania farmland, with JDK stage-managing 12 vendors. The couple, self-identifying as “both a little strange,” wanted swanky “but slightly creepy” for their October wedding.

THE SETTING: 

An instant tent city on a family property that the public normally uses for flying remote-control airplanes. Kyle, a graphic designer, chose music-synched lighting to color-wash the black and white theme and illuminate the ice sculptures, including a huge raw seafood ice bar, diamond ice curtain and drink luge.

THE DETAILS:

Texture-rich layers of white in Bryce’s custom dress, the bouquets, a cake dressed in a ruffled “skirt,” patterned lighting and hand-sewn tablecloths. Black candelabras dripping with snowy orchids. A funky white lounge against a sea of black urban chic: carpet, chandeliers, linens and paper. Pops of color in a candy bar and cerise shoes. Monograms and hand-painted words of love. On the menu, upscale met rural, with vanilla-scented sea bass, “jeweled couscous” and micro-sunburst squash, chicken-waffle sliders and torched Fluffernutters. Winning an international catering award, this choreographed event reflected the artistry of the couple and their vendors. Among JDK’s triumphs was serving 315 guests a piping hot gourmet meal simultaneously in the middle of a field.

THE GUEST OF HONOR:

The couple’s bowtied bulldog “son” led them down the aisle, fell asleep during the wedding and was not invited to the reception.

THE DRESS:

A collaboration culminating in an Italian silk peau de soie with a shirred fit-and-flair silhouette, dropped hip line and a surprise inset of ornamented silk chiffon.

THE GETAWAY:

White limos and, eventually, as the Murano bottle stopper favors hinted, Italy.

Vendors:

THE THREADS:

Bride: custom gown and hairpiece from Posh Bridal, Lancaster, www.poshbridal.com; bridesmaids and mothers: In White Bridal Boutique, Lancaster, www.inwhite.com; groomsmen: black European-style suits, Mens Wearhouse.

THE MAKEUP:

Carmina Cristina, Lemoyne, www.carminacristina.com.

THE WEDDING PLANNER:

Wedding producer: David Everett, Weddings by JDK, Camp Hill and Lancaster, www.weddingsbyjdk.com; wedding coordinator: Jonnaysa Kirkham, Planned Perfection, Lancaster, www.plannedperfectionpa.com.

THE REHEARSAL DINNER:

Stock’s Manor, Mechanicsburg, www.stocksmanor.com.

THE RECEPTION AND EATS:

Weddings by JDK.

THE SAVE THE DATES: 

Anticipate Invitations, Marietta, www.anticipateinvitations.com.

THE STATIONERY: 

Persnickety Invitation Studio, York, www.persnicketyinc.com.

THE TENT:

Event Central, Mechanicsburg, www.eventcentralpa.com.

THE BLOOMS:

Weddings by JDK.

THE CAKE:

The Couture Cakery, Lemoyne, www.couturecakery.net.

THE VIDEO:

Cinemacake Filmmakers, King of Prussia, www.cinemacake.com

THE WHEELS:

Unique Limousine, Harrisburg, www.uniquelimousine.com.

THE IMAGES:

Photographer: Thomas Beaman Photography, Camp Hill, www.thomasbeaman.com

Add your comment:
Meet Susquehanna Vaslley's Select Lawyers
Edit Module
Advertisement